The Rose and the Pentagram


by Roger Norling

This article is written to accompany the recent article about the mysticist, and possibly even fencer and a Freyfechter, Ηeinrich Agrippa . If you haven’t read the article, it is suggested you do so, before reading this article.

“Children of the Sun” from the Italian manuscript “De Sphaera”, owned by the Sforza family and dated to ca 1460AD. Heinrich Agrippa served as a captain under Maximilian Sforza in 1513-1515AD

Die Rose (the Rose) is a longsword, dussack, rappier and quarterstaff technique described by fencing masters starting from about 1516AD. This striking sequence, as used by several masters including, Andre Paurnfeindt, Paul Hektor Mair [1] and Joachim Meyer [2], and several later derivative works [3], has confused some of us as we try to understand the relationship between the name and the application of the technique.

Read all the article here: http://www.hroarr.com/the-rose-and-the-pentagram/

6 thoughts on “The Rose and the Pentagram

  1. Hi there I am so excited I found your blog, I really found you by accident, while I was looking on Aol for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a fantastic post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I dont have time to look over it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the great job.

  2. Awesome blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog stand out. Please let me know where you got your design. Thanks a lot

  3. You have very nice blog here. Only one thing what I noticed, it was very hard to find it from google (at least with my search term). You should check this: http://bit.ly/14AbDBH I use it on my wp blogs. It will definately help you getting better ranking in google so more traffic 🙂

  4. It is appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy.
    I have read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions.
    Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article.
    I wish to read even more things about it!

Leave a comment